Imo speaker, seven lawmakers join APC

Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly , Collins Chiji , has defected to the All Progressives Congress from the Peoples Democratic Party.

Seven other lawmakers equally joined the ruling APC from the PDP .

The speaker announced his defection and that of his colleagues during a plenary on Tuesday , The PUNCH reports .
The plenary , which lasted for 15 minutes, came to an end after the speaker announced the names of the defecting lawmakers .

Apart from the speaker , others who defected are Uche Ogbuagu ( Ikeduru ) , Dominic Ezerioha ( Oru West ) Chigozie Nwaneri( Oru East ) , Kanayo Onyemaechi ( Owerri West ) , Kennedy Ibe ( Obowo ) Onyemaechi Njoku ( Ihitte / Uboma ) , and Eddy Obinna ( Aboh Mbaise ) .

With the defections , APC now has 18 lawmakers with PDP having eight in the Imo State House of Assembly .

Uju Onwudiwe ( Njaba ) , who was declared the winner of the supplementary election held Saturday , on Action Alliance platform , is yet to be sworn- in by the speaker.

Comment here